Common Sense Is So Rare, It’s a Super Power

December 26, 2008 at 8:32 pm (4th Reich, ADD, ADHD, America, Bush, Erin Burnett, History, Mass Conditioning, Mercury, Sheeple, Thimerosal, Toys, USA)

common_sense_god_damn_super_power12

Where have all the intelligent, civilized, open-minded people gone?

Answer: They’re not here. Maybe they moved to India, with all our jobs. The fluoride in our drinking water must be a little too strong because I know quite a few people who would not know the correct answer to any of the questions in the first video. It only going to get worse, though. Currently, about 1/5 of American high school kids cannot point to the United States of America on a map if the country names are not shown. Before education was standardized, American kids were the best at math in the entire world. Not anymore. Now we’re lucky if they can put two words together in a coherent manner.

I can’t blame the kids. I can, however, blame the adults because it is OUR fault and ignorance for allowing this to happen.

My fiance once said, “Ignorance is not bliss. Ignorance is f*cking ignorant. Look it up in the dictionary.”

Americans are Not Stupid – with subtitles (courtesy of the Onion)

Bayer ships HIV-contaminated Factor VIII overseas

Mercury Is Good for Your Brain

Lead Free Toys Will Make Wal-Mart Prices Go Up ~ one of my favorites!

Bush – Money Trumps Peace

7 Comments

  1. virgomonkey said,

    America compared to herself is admittedly dumb. But when we compare Americans to the other 194 countries, we are no longer “the dumbest nation in the world”.

    Americans must compare and contrast before they can conclude that they are the stupidest. And to be able to assert that ignorance is an “American phenomenon”, one must travel and live in other countries – or at the very least, get to know non-American people by befriending them.

    I used to think like you. That was, until I met people from other countries and lived in another one for almost seven years.

    The humble nature of your post makes me proud. But it is this kind of insular thinking that is no better than being “ignorant”.

    Ignorance knows no borders and comes in all shapes, sizes, nations, flavors, and colors.

    Additionally, anyone can take a country’s extremists or dumbells and make them out to be “the average American”.

    Here’s an example for you. By watching this video (and this is just one of MANY examples), can you conclude that all Brits are ignorant?

    Don’t you think that the argument you pose against “most” Americans is ignorant in and of itself? I find it to be a bit ironic.

  2. dianarn said,

    I, too have met plenty of people in other countries, and I have lived in Europe for 14 years. I’ve been to the UK, too, and I hold the Brits to about the same standards as I do Americans.

    Yes, there are dumb, ignorant, evil, etc. people everywhere. It comes with the territory. It seems, however, that in the United States education, accountability, and responsibility are held to much lower standards when compared to popularity, money, entertainment, etc.

    In all the countries I have been, except for the USA, education is treated as a top priority. From the poorest peasant to the richest man, education is viewed as invaluable and necessary. As I have stated in the post, before education was standardized in the USA, American kids were the best at math in the world. I bet you can take an average 7-year old naked Australian aboriginal kid and he’ll know more about the world than an average 15-year old American kid.

    It is this lack of interest for education that has allowed all the things in the videos I posted to happen. We care more about the next episode of Dancing with the Stars than about what their senators and governors are doing. We allow a biased media to shape our perceptions of the world because we don’t know any better, nor do we care to learn.

    The US is a massive country. We only have 2 neighbors, and there has not been a war fought on our soil since the Civil War. People don’t believe they need to learn world geography, history, or languages. Canada speaks English and we don’t care about the Mexicans. We live in our own little bubble.

    That hasn’t stopped us, however, from bombing the shit out of a ton of countries. And herein lies the danger. All of the countries we’ve invaded, all of the men, women, and children that have been killed, maimed, and/or tortured, all of it was done IN OUR NAME.

    I don’t know about you, but I can’t live with that. I’m trying to educated people to what we’re doing to the rest of the world, so we can get together and maybe put a stop to it. A lot of the time I feel like I’m hitting my head against a brick wall because nobody gives a shit. “So what if Bayer infected the French with HIV. Damn French are all sissies, anyway! Let’s blow that island of Iraq to smithereens!” Americans aren’t dumb…. they’re willfully ignorant.

    When the world looks at us, they see a school bully playing throwing dynamite. And I don’t know how long it will be until the rest of the world has had enough.

  3. virgomonkey said,

    Canada speaks English and we don’t care about the Mexicans. We live in our own little bubble.

    How are the Mexicans and Canadians any different from us?

    And as far as the importance of education is concerned, at least I see it as more of a right vs left wing phenomenon than an “American phenomenon”. Any liberal, including myself, will agree with you the education should be at the top of the list.

    Watching TV shows more than global news? How are we different from the Japanese, Canadians, Mexicans, Australians, Jamaicans, Brazilians, and even Europeans in this regard?

    Also, if education were a top priority in every other country, then why are Europeans consistently false when talking about American life or politics? Also, why in Britain are they going to stop teaching about the Holocaust? Aren’t we supposed to know history to keep it from repeating itself? If you read, in full, the article I linked to in the above post, you’d see that there are just as many people who are victims of either a failed system or an apathetic attitude toward learning AND THEY COME FROM OTHER COUNTRIES!

    Americans only care about what will effect their immediate lives. This is not about “being American” as opposed to being human. We are by default selfish little creatures. I can say from experience that our priorities (work, taking care of our kids, spending time with friends and family, winding down after a stressful day at work, and entertaining ourselves) are no different from the Japanese.

    That hasn’t stopped us, however, from bombing the shit out of a ton of countries. And herein lies the danger. All of the countries we’ve invaded, all of the men, women, and children that have been killed, maimed, and/or tortured, all of it was done IN OUR NAME.

    Right. But why should this be the fault of all 300 million Americans? I’m a history buff like yourself. And I’m sure you’ve heard of the Spanish Inquisition, the British Empire, the Russian Empire, the Japanese Empire, Islamic holy wars and extremism in addition to brutal dictators like Hitler that has caused atrocities all over the world. Should these happenings reflect on the average citizen in all these countries? Free Tibet? Does this mean that everyone is then stupid?

    Taking the actions of a leader and blurring them in with the average man on the street is VERY ignorant. VERY.

    I don’t know about you, but I can’t live with that. I’m trying to educated people to what we’re doing to the rest of the world, so we can get together and maybe put a stop to it. A lot of the time I feel like I’m hitting my head against a brick wall because nobody gives a shit. “So what if Bayer infected the French with HIV. Damn French are all sissies, anyway! Let’s blow that island of Iraq to smithereens!” Americans aren’t dumb…. they’re willfully ignorant.

    Once again, you’re taking examples of our extremists and pinning them to the average American which I find entirely unfair. Americans know about Bayer infecting the French with HIV just as much as the French know about how domestic terrorists in Japan tainting soda and food with poisonous substances that took many lives. Or how about the time when our Tylenol got poisoned and many people died?Ask your fellow Europeans if they ever heard of the “Arkansas Mafia”.

    It seems to be that your research is only looking at Americans. You aren’t comparing and contrasting utilizing critical thinking skills. Because Europe is so Americanophobic, my guess is that you are taking their unfounded rumors about Americans as truth instead of challenging or questioning the data that comes your way. Do you not realize that is how Bush got elected in 2004? Americans got brainwashed as 70% of us were convinced that Iraq was connected to 9-11. That is no different from you listening to the European media and “what he or she said” as truth and not looking at the issues with a fair and balanced angle.

    Your writing is also very negative. Now, Bush’s approval rating is the lowest in recorded history at 23% and Obama got elected. Maybe you wanted Ralph Nader to win, and that’s fine. But Obama being elected is an AWESOME change for the US. You are just obsessed with the negative and not noticing us for anything that we do right. Which again, is entirely unfair.

    When the world looks at us, they see a school bully playing throwing dynamite. And I don’t know how long it will be until the rest of the world has had enough.

    How do you think people like me feel about the way our government behaves? From having lived in Europe so long, have you no idea the outrage that has been going on here over the years? You think it’s been fun?

  4. dianarn said,

    No, it hasn’t been fun, but I don’t think you’ve had enough.

    It takes only 10% of an entire population in order to have some sort of “revolution,” whether it’s cultural, spiritual, or civil. That’s the critical mass, all it would take is to wake up 10% of the population. It hasn’t happened yet because I doubt even 5% of the population cares about any of this stuff.

    I haven’t seen any good change since 1913. The only man who wanted to abolish the Fed got shot in the head.

    You think the fact that Obama got elected is going to change anything? Maybe, if he’d abolish the Federal Reserve, but I doubt it. After all, why should we care that we’re perpetually in debt due to the fact that we owe interest on every dollar bill that we can never pay back? Or do you think he’ll end the war or quit giving money away to countries that don’t need it? Nader wouldn’t have done it, McCain wouldn’t have done it. There was only one person who said the first thing he’ll do once he takes office is to abolish the Federal Reserve. Ron Paul.

    You said you like history. Well, there’s a ton of American history, especially related to the government and politics that I’m sure you have no idea about. I didn’t until I started looking it up.

    And yes, I do believe all 300 million of us are responsible for what our government and military are doing. This is our country and we should tell the government what to do, not the other way around. Until our mentality changes as a whole, nothing will ever change, regardless of who the President is.

    The same thing goes for every other country because they have to clean their houses about as much as we do. I live in this country, so I care what we’re doing more than I care about anyone else.

  5. virgomonkey said,

    I am a sceptic, so no, I do not trust that Obama will deliver on all of his promises. I am a cynic as well. All I know is that I did my very best to tell my government how to behave and not just by voting. My best is all I can do. So, is yours. To think that our country can ever be perfect one day is ludicrous. I’m not saying that we should stand still and watch imperfection. We should control what we can, but to think that we’ll accomplish on our ideals is too idealistic for me. Improvement – yes. Perfection – no.

    But I voted for Obama, anyway. And I wouldn’t ever take that vote back.

    The only part where I disagree is about responsibility. I only think we’re responsible if we’ve made a choice to set our country back and to destroy lives on foreign soil. I don’t want to be barked at for doing my darndest for our country.

  6. elninotheband said,

    Wow Diana! what a collection :) The “Mercury is good for you” video is a cake-taker. To me it is an example of the power’s willingness to do ANYTHING to ensure profits. Its SAD, SAD, SAD. The mercury is a preservative because the stuff is mass-produced and must sit in warehouses for months before being injected into the kids. That’s BIG BIG money. Actually attacking the mercury issue shows that we don’t know enough about whats in the stuff. The deflected it easily by creating not just one but 2 STUDIES that say it “MAY” actually “HELP” kid’s brain function. What absurd bullshit. But people bought it -I’m sure- just becaue it was on TV.

  7. reflux1 said,

    “Do you not realize that is how Bush got elected in 2004? Americans got brainwashed as 70% of us were convinced that Iraq was connected to 9-11.” Virgo basically proved your point and nullified his own argument with that statement??

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

